“Awesome”

For fear of sounding like a teenage american, the word ‘awesome’ doesn’t come to mind so much and yet tonight it resonates loud and clear. I finally stumbled upon Venerable Roger’s new blog on Mandala Magazine’s website which recounts life on the road with Lama Zopa Rinpoche. I found it, well, you’ve guessed, awesome.

When I first started working at Vajrapani Institute, Diana Weddigen, our Assistant Director at the time, shared with me advice that almost tattooed itself into the recesses of my mind. I was probably suffering from another navel-gazing attack, maybe feeling burn-out from my couple of 8 1/2 hour days or whatever was going on, Diana kindly explained that capacity for offering service grows as one’s practice develops. The more one learns to cherish others, the greater one’s capacity to joyfully offer service becomes. She advised me to be patient and watch as my capacity would develop and to think of Rinpoche to remind myself that that capacity can be limitless.

Ribur Rinpoche's Sarnath Buddha

And so when I stumbled upon Venerable Roger’s blog, Diana’s words, never too far from my mind, came to me. Reader, if you would like to have some sense of what it looks like to live a life dedicated to others, dive into Lama Zopa Rinpoche’s daily world. And hopefully you’ll notice not just Rinpoche’s 24/7 selfless antics, but the 24/7 gymnastics Rinpoche’s entourage engage in to support his activities. Venerable Roger, Holly, Kunsang and Samden, are, let me please use that word again, awesome. As I type these words, the sound of a Clint Eastwood-type western tune comes to mind. I wished it was more holly than that but I guess that’s one form of hero association.

And here’s a quick stupa-update. The Dharmakaya relic mantras printed on microfilm have arrived. Because of a printing error that occured, we have to have them reprinted. OR cut and splice the film 1,345 times which probably would have taken us until 2017. So we cancelled the blessing of the Tsog ching (stupa’s ‘central chanel) and mantras with Choden Rinpoche scheduled for tomorrow. Scrambling to reprint the mantras to have them blessed asap and rolled around the tsog-ching. And breathe. Business as usual.

Yesterday the Sarnath Buddha Ribur Rinpoche donated to Varjapani in the early 2000’s found an amazing new home at the entrance of the main Gompa.

Join us for Big Love Day.

There is still time to donate now to sponsor the most precious relics of all, the Dharmakaya relic mantras which will fill all four stupas.

May all who contribute in any way to this project reap the fruit of pure guru devotion, the root of the path to enlightenment, and may all their temporal and ultimate wishes be fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

